The Signorile Report
The Signorile Report
Caller claims all Trump supporters don't back insurrectionists, but can't prove it
14
0:00
-3:05

Caller claims all Trump supporters don't back insurrectionists, but can't prove it

Derek from California said he's "too busy" to call his congressman to demand an investigation
14

photo: Tyler Merbler, license: CC BY-ND 2.0

If you’ve been enjoying The Signorile Report, consider subscribing for just $5.00 per month and supporting independent, ad-free opinion journalism. Thanks!

I’m starting the week off by exposing more of the lies from Trump supporters who claim they’re “not all like that” — but can’t prove it with a simple phone call.

Last week, in a discussion on my SiriusXM show about the insurrection and the resistance by House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy and others in the GOP to support a bipartisan commission to investigate, Trump supporter Derek from California called in.

I’d noted that the only reason the GOP is opposing an investigation is that they’re afraid of Trump, and his base. And Trump doesn’t want any investigation of the insurrection he inspired his supporters to engage in.

“What happened at the Capitol was appalling,” Derek said, “but I don’t think it’s fair to tie all Trump supporters to that because that’s only a small handful of nut jobs who went in there and broke the law and killed a police officer and yada, yada, yada.”

I replied that he and all Trump supporters were complicit if they don’t demand an investigation and asked if he’s voting for a Republican in 2022 if Republicans don’t demand an investigation.

Share The Signorile Report

“Yeah — better than a Democrat,” he replied.

“Then you are complicit,” I repeated. “You are as bad as them, Derek.”

He claimed, “I want justice,” but then failed to prove it.

“Did you call your congressman?” to demand an investigation, I asked.

And yes, a few F-bombs came out of my mouth. (I know, some will say I got too angry, but man, this guy was so full of crap.)

After I pressed him further, Derek admitted he didn’t call his congress member because, “I was busy.”

I then just had to tell him that he shouldn’t be wasting my time, that in the amount of time he spent calling my show, sitting on the line, and then challenging me, he could have just called his member of Congress and demanded an investigation.

“So just stop the bullshit,” I said.

Listen in, and let me know your thoughts.

Hi all, and thanks for reading and following The Signorile Report. Most of it is free to read, but if you’d like to support my writing and independent, ad-free opinion journalism (and join great discussion threads), please consider becoming a paid subscriber for just $5 per month or $50 annually.

Support the Signorile Report

14 Comments